May 27, 2014

Sexual Politics by Tara Mills

SOR Sexual Politics VBT BannerGenre: Contemporary Romance

Is the scandal worth it? Only she can answer that.

For two years Justine Hubbard has played the supportive wife role for her husband in public…and nowhere else. Senator Gary Hubbard's philandering ended her love for him. But sometimes there are reasons people decide to maintain the illusion of a happy marriage when the relationship is over.

Living a lie until after the election wasn't an issue—until she met Sean O'Donnell. She can't fool the perceptive photographer. He understands her. He wants her. After feeling invisible to her husband, that's an intoxicating discovery. But having condemned her husband for his hushed affairs, it would be hypocritical to give in to her desire for Sean.

All it would take is a whisper of scandal for her husband's political enemies to bring him down. She wouldn't dream of sacrificing Gary's career, their causes, and her own good name. But how can she stay away from Sean now that she's fallen for him?

Content Warning: contains sensual sex and mild language

SORM excerpt
The senator put his arm around his wife while she stood, frozen, her smile brittle on the edges. "Justine is a big patron of the arts. I'm glad she found someone interesting to talk to tonight. She hates these functions."

Sean smiled tightly, noting her discomfort. "She's not the only one."

"Yes, well…" The senator rubbed his hands together. "The sooner I get out of here, the sooner I can get home."

Sean felt the next perfunctory kiss was for his benefit. His heart went out to her.

"Don't wait up," the senator said to his wife.

One more insincere handshake with Sean and the man was gone.

She seemed to shrink, as if letting go of the tension took an inch off her height. "I think he forgot to call for my car."

"I'm just about to leave. Would you like to share a cab?"

The corner of her mouth twitched and she nodded, her lovely hazel eyes shining, though not a tear fell.

They ditched their glasses and headed to the atrium. Twice his hand strayed automatically toward the small of her back as they walked. He had to remind himself not to touch her.

Collecting their coats, he helped her into hers then slipped on his own, winding his slate gray scarf around his neck.

He didn't hesitate to offer his arm on the way out. Her high heels demanded it. Even though the sidewalk had clearly been shoveled once already, snow continued to fall, the scattered salt leaving circular patterns of melt amidst the slick. The doorman waved a cab forward and opened the door for them. Sean helped her into the back then slid in after her.

The doorman shut them in as Sean adjusted his long coat on the seat around him. "Let's drop you off first."

"All right." She leaned forward and gave the cabbie her address.

* * * *

Justine was hyper aware of O'Donnell's hand resting on the seat not eight inches from hers as they rode across the city. If they both stretched out a pinky, they might even touch. Beyond handshakes, she hadn't touched a man in so long. Gary no longer counted. He only touched her in public. After his second affair, she'd insisted.

Her life, her marriage, her husband—all of it was a sham.

Glancing surreptitiously at Sean O'Donnell as he watched the scenery pass, she was struck by how handsome he was, in a completely natural way. There was no hint of product in his hair to tame and control the wayward curls flaring out behind his ears. If anyone gave Gary's hair a little pat it would shift on his head like one solid, perfect helmet.

Even though it was faint, she could smell Old Spice coming off her quiet seatmate. It made her smile. Ah, memories. Back in the day, she used to love that aftershave. Gary only wore expensive cologne.

Sean cleaned up nicely, but she could tell he was as uncomfortable with the public side of his life as she was with hers. There was something genuine about him. After living with a facsimile of a human being for seven years, that was an attractive quality to have.

The cab turned onto her street and she began to worry the purse in her lap. Their ride had taken no time at all. They pulled to the curb in front of her townhouse and she started to open the clasp on her purse for her share of the fare. That's when Sean O'Donnell finally touched her bare hand, stopping her.

"It was on the way," he said.

"Thank you."

He exited the car then held the door, assisting her out. "I'll walk you up."

Afraid it would feel too much like the end of an awkward date, she declined his offer, though she appreciated his consideration. "That isn't necessary."

"Don't forget, the Russell Gallery. I hope to see you there, Mrs. Hubbard."

Flattered, she laughed softly. "I'll be there. But please, call me Justine."

She liked how his eyes crinkled at the corners when he smiled. "Sean."

"Thank you for the ride."

"My pleasure. Goodnight, Justine." He stood there, silent and seemingly unaffected by the large, fluffy snowflakes settling on his hair and shoulders.

"Goodnight, Sean." Feeling a blush coming on, she hurried up her front steps and slipped her key in the lock. He was still watching over her from the open car door when she turned on the light and stepped into the foyer. Lifting her hand, she gave him a final parting wave.

Nodding once in return, he dipped his head and got back into the taxi.

As the car pulled away, she fell against the door and turned the deadbolt, her heart racing in a thrilling and inappropriate way.

 Buy Links:  Beachwalk Press    Amazon    Barnes & Noble

SORM About the Author

I write stories I like to read–contemporary romances with identifiable characters and themes.  Life is hard.  Love makes it bearable. If you enjoy stories with heat and humor, I have a title for you.
I’m a pampered wife, lucky mom to three amazing sons and one wonderful daughter-in-law, and I recently became a very young grandma. I should probably underline the word very.  Oh heck, why not the word young too?  Nah, you get the picture.  I’m also the daily monitor of one naughty dog with attitude.
Author Links:   Site    Facebook      Twitter

SORM Giveaway

Tara is giving away to a lucky winner a choice of eBook from her backlist.
For a chance to win please fill out the Rafflecopter below.

May 26, 2014

A Cat's Tale by Melissa Snark

Genre: Paranormal Romance

SOR A Cat's Tail VBT Banner Alpha werewolf, Jared Kohl, wakes up in a vampire’s dungeon, swearing revenge upon the wily Siamese werecat who lured him there with her sultry lips and the sweetest tail. To escape his undead captor, all he has to do is seduce the skittish puss and show her that trust is often a hot and hard lesson to learn.

Enslaved feline shifter, Josephine Young, has learned the hard way not to believe in anything or anyone—not men, not love, and certainly not the blood-sucking mistress who tossed her into the cage with the hungry beast she’d betrayed. But Josephine does what she must to survive, including tempting the dominant werewolf to give her more than promises.

Imprisoned for their blood, Jared and Josephine fight for survival and discover a passion that neither can walk away from. Can these two predators survive long enough to prove that cats and dogs can be more than enemies?

“Ooph.” Jared’s breath expelled from his lungs with the sudden addition of Josephine atop his chest. The cot creaked under the strain of their combined weight.

The curious blue-eyed cat shoved her head between the werewolf and his book. He had been ignoring her for hours to read. It was unacceptable. “Whatcha doing?”

“Plotting to take over the world. What the hell does it look like I’m doing?” He closed his book.

“Don’t be surly.” She stuck the pad of her palm against his chin and brushed his lips with her knuckles. “No one likes a grumpy werewolf.”

“Funny, I don’t recall ever worrying about my popularity.”

“You should.” Josephine watched as he set the book aside. “Does Shakespeare say anything about cats?”

Beneath her, Jared contemplated in silence, his chest rising and falling with comfortable regularity. “In Othello, he says, ‘Drown thyself? Drown cats and blind puppies.’”

“Ouch! Hey, no claws!” Jared jumped as Josephine’s claws dug into his bare chest; he grabbed her and lifted her. His laughter echoed through the small cell.

“Something more flattering.”

“Henry IV: ‘I am as vigilant as a cat to steal cream.’” He lowered her to rest upon his chest again.

Buy Links :  Amazon   Barnes & Noble    ARe

Add to your Want-to-Read list on Goodreads

Fast Facts About Melissa Snark:

Melissa Snark is published with The Wild Rose Press & as an Indie author with four different titles.

Her Loki's Wolves series includes THE CHILD THIEF, HUNGER MOON AND BATTLE CRY (to be released June 2014).

Her novel THE MATING GAME, an erotic paranormal title will be released in Spring 2014.

She lives in the San Francisco bay area with her husband, three children and a glaring of cats.

She blogs about books and writing on The Snarkology.

Author Links:  Website   Facebook   Twitter  Goodreads   Amazon 

Jewels of the Moon Pendant for Clairvoyance and Psychic Ability by Nordic Lights Collection by Maelstrom Odssonn. (This is for US only)

May 22, 2014

Jocelyn's Choice by Ella Jade

My three year publishing anniversary is approaching! Come celebrate with me! Pick up my New Adult Novel Jocelyn’s Choice for just .99 cents!

A New Adult Romance

Jocelyn Andrews, a shy, awkward, high school senior, has never even been on a date until she meets Alex Jordon, the older, more experienced brother of her best friend Evan. Jocelyn falls hard for the charming player and wants to explore all of the “firsts” that go along with new love. Alex has no problem showing her what she’s been missing.

Alex is captivated by young, innocent Jocelyn and to his own surprise, only has eyes for her.  One night of careless passion leads to a life-altering dilemma. Alex must head back to Yale to finish an internship, having no idea what he’s left behind. Jocelyn must decide what to do on her own, forcing her to grow up much faster than she anticipated.

Reality sets in, decisions are made and Jocelyn has to live with her choices. Alex returns home to more than he ever bargained for. Young love has never been more complicated as they deal with a teen pregnancy, social barriers, and concerned family members. Life sometimes throws a curve ball, but the unexpected isn’t always bad.

I sat on the floor in the tiny bathroom and debated whether I should reach up to the counter and check the stick I had just peed on. It had been over five minutes, more than enough time to get the results I dreaded. I’d thrown up twice since starting the test, but I had gotten used to that. I had been throwing up for over two weeks now. At first, I thought it was just the stress I felt over him leaving. It wasn’t until after he went back to Yale that I realized I was more than three weeks late.

Three weeks and two days, to be exact. I didn’t have to look at that test to know what it was going to tell me, because I already knew. My stomach did another flip just thinking about it. The July heat wasn’t helping, either. I hovered over the toilet, pulled my long hair out of the way, and emptied whatever was left in my system, which wasn’t much. I stood from the floor and rinsed out my mouth, my gaze veering over toward the pregnancy test. My hands trembled as I slowly picked it up. I forced myself to look. I needed the confirmation.

Two pink lines . . . no shock there. I even knew exactly when it happened. The day of the week, and where we were. But, how did I let this happen? I knew the answer to that too.

Available now for just .99 cents!

Hurry price goes back to $5.50 at the end of May!


I’m giving away one $5 Starbucks Gift Card and one Signed Swag pack with some surprise goodies. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

May 21, 2014

The Assassin by Imogene Nix

SOR The Assassin VBT BannerGenre: Science Fiction/Futuristic Romance

Kumi Ito has her mission, as does Carmichael Snow, but are their objectives compatible?

Kumi Ito is a woman with a problem. Since assuming the role of head of the Commerce Department, she's found discrepancies…the kind that could cause anarchy if the truth got out.

When Carmichael Snow, the commander of the Emancipation, comes across intelligence that someone has placed a hit on Kumi, he has to save her. His plan? Hide her and find the assassin.

As they dodge the killer, a passion ignites between them that runs from simmering all the way to steamy. But will the actions of one snatch away their happiness before they can accept what is growing between them?

Content Warning: This book features a buff, hot guy and a kick-butt heroine. Naturally, hot scenes will follow.

The small craft Carmichael and Tomi traveled in approached an imposing tower, slowing and dropping to the plascrete surface with a slight bump before rolling to a stop in an empty bay. The doors opened and both men climbed out. The glass slider whooshed open and they moved at a pace somewhere between a stride and jog. The silence was welcome. After years onboard the Emancipation, Carmichael was used to the general hubbub of people. This was still and hushed. The peace before the storm.

A man approached, and Carmichael guessed he was maybe fifty. He's carefully preserved, he thought, noting the impeccable gray suit and discreet adornments. He wasn't tall, but his black hair sprinkled with silver was as immaculate as his clothing. In his uniform, Carmichael felt crumpled before the picture of sartorial elegance. No doubt this was the kind of man Kumi appreciated. He pulled himself up short. He wasn't there to further his relationship prospects. He had a job to do.

"Madam Kumi is expecting you, Senator. Your friend, however…" The man frowned slightly as he indicated with his perfectly manicured hands toward the seating area.

"He is with me."

The man nodded, but his eyes narrowed. "She has requested privacy for your meeting."

Tomi moved through the doorway and Carmichael shadowed him. "Thank you, Dobry."

Carmichael filed the name away. Never know what will be the piece of information that will solve the puzzle.

Once inside, the door closed with an audible snick. Behind a large wooden desk overflowing with files was Kumi. As elegant as ever in a silver-gray suit. Kumi wasn't a tall or large woman, but with her golden toned skin and tip-tilted brown eyes she drew the eye. Her short, dark hair was worn in a bob that framed her pixie-shaped face.

She looked soft. Womanly. He also knew she had a spine of pure steel. He'd already seen it in action the night he'd
squired her at the commitment ceremony.

She smiled as she rose. "Well, Tomi. Whatever this is, it had better be good."

Carmichael noted her bare feet with a grin.

Kumi obviously noticed him and his quick glance. She came to a standstill, frowning before stepping in his direction, then stopped in front of him. Her gaze dipped to her feet and she blushed the most charming pink tinge along her high cheekbones. "Oh, dear. Do forgive me, Captain." She wiggled the toes which peeked out from under her long, flowing pants.

"There is nothing to forgive, Madam Kumi." He watched her fluid movements and admired her curves. She was sleek and lithe, and his body tightened at the thought of what lay under the light silk jacket.

With a jerky nod, Kumi made for her seat and slowly lowered herself. In a classic move, she folded her hands across the desk, her features now a serene veil of watchfulness. "So then, brother, what's so important that I had to see you immediately and not tonight?"

"It would seem you and your work have been noted by someone with a modicum of power among the Indy rebels. Captain Snow's men intercepted a communication. Kumi, you're making enemies."
Buy Links:     Beachwalk Press     Amazon    Barnes & Noble

Imogene is a mother of two, compulsive reader, and bookstore owner. She lives in regional Queensland, Australia with her husband, two daughters, dog, cats, guinea pigs, and chooks. She has a particular fondness for vampires, star ship captains, and things that go bump in the night (especially vampire types).Imogene has tried many varied roles in her working life including kindergarten assistant, teacher, principal, and kindergarten and child care director, but rates owning a bookstore and writing her own novels as the absolute highlight.In her mother and wife alter ego, she has travelled widely and lived in some very unique places including Far Western Queensland, Cape York, and even Tasmania. She loves to travel and rates China and Hong Kong among her favorite destinations.She blames Star Trek Voyager, Firefly, and the works of
Alexander Kent for her interest in naval activities and later space fleet interest.
Author Links:  Site    Facebook    Blog    Twitter

Imogene is giving away an eCopy of her books to TWO lucky winners.
For a chance to win Please fill out the rafflecopter Below.

May 15, 2014

A Saint's Salvation by Beverly Ovalle

SOR A Saint's Salvation VBT Banner2Genre: Contemporary Romance

Corporal Nicholas 'Saint' Santiago needs to go home to reclaim the man he used to be. To be the man he was before Operation Enduring Freedom slowly hardened his heart. He needs to reconnect to the values and the reasons he is doing what he does. Saint also needs to try to forget the courageous woman he knows was meant to be his.

Petty Officer Angelina Jones' life changed the moment Saint saved her life. She survived the blast but now has to deal with the fact that she will never be whole. Knowing Saint received a 'Dear John' letter, Angelina has no intention of being his rebound romance. She needs to be loved for herself. She needs to forget about the one man she knows was meant to be hers.

They each try to find someone to help them forget.

But what does fate have planned for them?

A shout from Hamilton brought him back to the here and now. “Hey, Saint, do you see any trouble coming?” On guard at the west wall, Nick shook his head. Not that it was much of a wall, a couple of sandbags holding up a makeshift bullet riddled wooden fence, an illusion of safety and security.

“No, it all looks clear.” Well, as clear as normal, Nick thought. The Seabees and the Army Corp of Engineers had done their best to give them a clear line of site, but the rubble of buildings and piles of rock where there used to be a town never seemed to go away. Rebels constantly hid there, randomly firing at their FOB, a forward operating base in Helmand Provence, making it almost impossible to build a more secure perimeter.

Nick could see kids playing in the dirt. In the distance the locals were harvesting the poppy fields. Some of the largest poppy fields in the world were right outside the walls of the FOB. Beautiful when in bloom, they were more pervasive and did more damage than the terrorists.

“Anymore threats?”

“When aren’t there threats?” Every damn day there were threats. “Why, is there a problem?”

“The brass is making noise. When they do something stupid, we end up paying for it.” Hamilton sounded disgusted. As Hamilton spoke, shots were fired over and through the fence, adding more holes to the dilapidated barrier. Nick and Hamilton hit the ground, rolling toward the sandbags to return fire through the cracks. “See what I mean?”

“Yeah it’s been a while since they shot at us, at least a couple of days.” Nick’s sarcasm caused Hamilton to laugh.

“Probably someone is coming to pick up something from the poppy fields and they want to keep us from seeing who.” Hamilton glanced at him. “You doing okay?”

“Gettin’ there. It was just a shock, ya know?”

“Yeah, damn women. The least they could do is be faithful while we’re out here fighting.”

“Yeah, it sucks. I just can’t help thinking it’s my fault.”

“Fuck. How the hell could it be? You weren’t even there. The bitch knew you were gone, were going to be gone.” They fired shots, aiming at the muzzle flash in the distance. More Marines headed their way, sprinting from cover to cover. Perez came running, bringing out ammo and providing more fire power.

Another crack and Perez went down with a cry.

“Fuck! Medic! Man down!” The cry went out, passed through until the call went to the corpsman, while Nick tried to stem the blood flow. Hands pushed his away. Nick looked up. Petty Officer Jones, better known as Doc, had bandages ready.

“Help me roll this on until we can get him out of here.” Her voice sent a ripple through him. Nick had always ignored the attraction he had felt for her. He’d had his girl back home, and fraternization out here could get him thrown in the brig. Not to mention the brig out here was a hell hole.

Nick was leery about approaching Doc now. The Dear John letter had been a shock. He had known Leila for years. Hell, they had been friends since they were little. Her betrayal was unexpected. Nick didn’t even really know Doc. He could trust her with his life, but he wasn’t ready for another go around with his heart, no matter the attraction he felt.

Nick looked toward the fence line, rifle at the ready. Shots were firing sporadically around him. That’s when he saw it, the trail from a grenade launcher, unmistakable. Shit!

Buy Links: Amazon     Barnes and Noble     All Romance eBooks     Bookstrand    Secret Cravings

Beverly Ovalle lives in Wisconsin with her husband Edmond of 24 years and two Chinese Water Dragons. Having her own Dragons is expected as she is dragon crazy and anyone that walks in her house can tell. Her son Nicholas visits when he is on leave from the Marines. Her daughter Susannah visits to the ‘old’ people.

Beverly has traveled around the world thanks to five years in the US Navy and has worked for the government in one capacity or another for the past 30 years. Beverly and her brothers have travelled most of the continental United States as children due to the station wagon from Hell. Still active with veterans, she is adjutant for her local AMVETS.

Beverly has been reading romances since her Aunt introduced her to the gothic romance in the fourth grade and is still reading every chance she gets.

Author Links:     Facebook     Twitter     Pinterest     Site

Beverly is giving away a book thong, for a chance to win fill out the rafflecopter below.

May 12, 2014

Royally Trained by Diana Ames

SOR Royally Trained VBT Banner
Genre: Erotic Romance/Dark Erotica

 In a country stuck in the dark ages is a world filled with sex and scandal. Governed by royalty, those in power have many deep-rooted secrets that span generations.

Prince Anton’s sordid past has forged his future. He finds his only pleasure from being a sadist, but he knows he must continue the royal bloodline and create an heir for his country. Forced by responsibility, he turns to the one man who can give him the best of both worlds. But will Prince Anton find what he’s searching for?

Damian is the ruler of The Dungeon. He is the Teacher, and the only man Prince Anton can trust to provide him with what he needs. He is on a mission to find a virgin submissive to become the prince’s life partner. What happens when the Teacher falls for the woman he’s been ordered to train?

As lust and love spiral out of control, Prince Anton and Damian find their lives change unexpectedly because of one independent and defiant woman.

Damian was going over the alcohol shipment that had arrived this morning. One of the reasons his sex clubs were so popular was because of the liquor he had shipped in from the mainland. It was expensive, but the quality was much greater than anything produced on Colania. Currently though, it was giving him a headache. He was missing a case of the high-end scotch he kept on hand.

Prince Anton strutted into his office without warning.

“Don’t you knock?” Damian said scathingly.

“Didn’t know I needed to,” Prince Anton replied.

“With all due respect, sire,” Damian said sarcastically, “this is my office in my club. Next time, knock.” Damian rose to his feet, his body fluid like a great jungle cat, before he went to embrace his prince. “Now, what the hell is so important you had to schedule an appointment?”

“I have a job for you,” Prince Anton told him. He returned the one-arm embrace stiffly and then moved away with haste. He was uncomfortable with physical contact that he didn’t initiate or control. When the two men sat, he elaborated. “My thirtieth birthday is approaching.”

“In a year and a half.” Damian snorted. “Do you think it wise to skip twenty-nine?”

“As the last of the monarchy, it is my job to reproduce,” Prince Anton continued. “As much as I would like to see the genes that have shaped me die out, the country would fall into a tailspin. Although we are remote and somewhat undeveloped, we are a rich nation. The power I hold is all that keeps us out of the eye of the world and off the radar for those who would oppress us.”

“What does this have to do with me?” Damian asked warily.

“I have no desire to repeat history,” Prince Anton said. “We both know that my sexual nature is more like that of the queen than my father.”

“Do you want me to train you?” Damian asked, confused. “To help you learn to control your appetite?”

“No,” Prince Anton said firmly. “I don’t think either of us could handle taking our relationship to that level.”

The two men had grown up together, which accounted for Damian’s lack of respect and boundaries, but Prince Anton wanted to maintain formality between them.

“You could be right,” Damian said with a light chuckle. “So, what do you want from me?”

“I want you to find her, the woman who will bear the future of the country,” Prince Anton said. “Find her and train her to be what I need.”

“You can’t just order up a woman on demand,” Damian told him with a raised eyebrow.

“You must find a woman with good genetics although Gilly can look into that after the candidate meets the other criteria,” the prince said, ignoring Damian. “Beautiful, obviously. I’m not particular with features, but it stands to reason if my life mate is attractive, then I will have a better chance with reproduction. I’d also prefer that she not have a single drop of royal blood regardless of past royal practices. I do not wish to produce monsters or further any imperfections through inbreeding, however distant the connection might be. She needs to be completely submissive. I will be in control of any encounters at all times. Whoever she is, she must be willing to leave her past life behind. I refuse to be burdened with in-laws who might not agree with my domination of their daughter.”

“That’s quite a shopping list,” Damian said, eyeing the prince harshly. “Anything else you’d like to add before I order a woman for you?”

“There is one more requirement,” Prince Anton said seriously. “And this is perhaps the most important of all. She must be a virgin.”

“You do realize when I train a woman to cede her control to her master that I have sex with her?” Damian asked incredulously. “Submissives have to learn to respond on command; an untried woman will not have that opportunity.”

“I will not have a woman who has felt a man between her thighs before me. I will not have my children born to a woman who will behave as my mother did. She must be pure!” Prince Anton roared.

“If I refuse to do this…” Damian didn’t finish the question.

“You will not refuse,” Prince Anton said, rising to his feet. “I expect you at the castle within the week. The search begins immediately.”

Buy Links:  Amazon US      Amazon UK      Barnes and Noble

Diana Ames was born and raised in Central Pennsylvania. She lives with her husband, two children, and a variety of crazy pets. Balancing work, wife and mom duties, and writing has been the best and most rewarding challenge of her life. The publication of this novel is the culmination of a lifetime of dreams.

Author Links:  Site       Facebook      Goodreads

Diane is giving away giving away 10 signed bookmarks, 3 eCopies of Royally Trained, and a $5.00 Amazon GC.
 For a chance to win please fill out the rafflecopter below.

Business Pleasures by Lia Davis

Title: Business Pleasures
Author: Lia Davis
Series: Pleasures of the Heart, book 1
Genre: Erotic Contemporary
Heat level: 5 Flames

Aimee Monroe never considered dating her boss. She needs a new beginning, not a big mistake. However, when the handsome, business lawyer, Kenton McDonnell, ask her to a dinner date with a new client and his wife, she finds it hard to say no. After one incredible night with Kenton, her attempt for a fresh start is ripped away when she returns home to find her abusive ex-husband waiting for her.
Kenton has wanted Aimee since the day she walked into the interview. Now he has the chance to make her his and nothing or no one is going to stand in his way. Especially not the ex-husband newly released from prison who has revenge in his sights.

He focused on Aimee and tilted his head slightly to the side. Her large green eyes held concern and something else he’d never noticed before. It could be simply she’d never looked him in the eyes before. Whatever the reason, he saw a loneliness there which mirrored his own.

The loneliness he’d felt since losing both his parents ten years ago.

“Mr. McDonnell?”

Shaking out of his thoughts, he smiled at her. “Do you like seafood?”

Her eyes widened and she drew back a little, showing her surprise at his question. Instead of answering, she peered back at her notebook. “The Olsens called and wanted to set up an appointment to go over the new evidence against their company.”

He sighed. “I’ll call them. I’m sure I can handle it over the phone.” He paused before asking her, again, “Do you like seafood?”

Without looking at him, she nodded then took a slip of paper tucked into the back cover of the notebook and slid it across the desk. He peered down at it and froze. A note from Julie to Aimee. Her familiar handwriting, neat and proper, expressed no distress over her decision to leave.


I broke it off with Kenton. It just wasn’t going anywhere. We tried, but failed. He really is a great guy and an amazing lover. I saw the way he looked at you, the way his voice softened when he mentioned your name. Don’t run from him for long. He’s too good of a catch.


He crumpled the paper in his hand and sat back in his chair, understanding Aimee’s hesitation. “Julie broke up with me in a text.” He laughed. “Like we’re in high school or something.”

Aimee lifted her gaze to his. “But you’re not upset?”

He shrugged. “I guess I expected it. Like she said, the relationship just stalled. Neither one of us wanted to marry the other. So the relationship hit a roadblock or just the end of the road. We could have toughed it out, waiting to move forward, but we’d both be unhappy and possibly grow to hate each other. She was right about one thing though.”

“What’s that?”

“I’m attracted to you.”

With her hands in her lap, she averted her gaze. “I don’t think this could work. I mean, you and me. You’re my boss.”

“Come to dinner with me tonight.”

“What? I can’t…”

“Do you have other plans? I’m sorry, I didn’t think. Of course you have something else planned. I’ll just reschedule the dinner.”

Aimee shifted in her seat. “Reservations are already made. You can’t reschedule. Campton Energy is a huge deal.”

“Alan and I are old friends. He’ll understand that something came up.”

She fell silent, still shaking her head. “I’ll go, but it’s not a date.”

Buy: Amazon

Lia Davis will be giving away a $50 gift card to Amazon, B&N, ARe, or iTunes (winner's choice)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Lia Davis is the author of the bestselling shifter series, Ashwood Falls, a mother to two young adults and three kitties, a wife to her soul mate, and co-owner to Fated Desires Publishing, LLC. She and her family live in Northeast Florida battling hurricanes and very humid summers. But it’s her home and she loves it!

An accounting major, Lia has always been a dreamer with a very active imagination. The wheels in her head never stop. She ventured into the world of writing and publishing in 2008 and loves it more than she imagined. Writing is stress reliever that allows her to go off in her corner of the house and enter into another world that she created, leaving real life where it belongs.

Her favorite things are spending time with family, traveling, reading, writing, chocolate, coffee, nature and hanging out with her kitties.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr | Pinterest | Goodreads | Amazon author page | |
Get your eBook personalized at Authorgraph.

May 9, 2014

Undone by His Desire by Dilys J. Carnie

Genre: Contemporary Romance

SOR Undone by his Desire VBT BannerA lone woman…a mysterious stranger…and a secret.

When Daisy Wallace meets Micah, a man of mystery, she is bowled over by an instant attraction. A passionate encounter follows, but he's holding back and Daisy doesn't understand why.

Micah King has been retained by a client to locate the triplet daughters that she gave up for adoption, and he's pretty sure Daisy is the youngest of the girls. He wants to tell Daisy the truth, but before he can he needs to verify that she is indeed the woman he's looking for. He never meant to get involved with her, but she's just so tempting.

When Daisy finds out the truth will she be able to forgive Micah's lie by omission? After all, he's deceived her from the first moment she laid eyes on him, and she's had her fill of deceitful men. And can she forgive the woman who gave her up thirty years ago?

Content Warning: contains adult language and explicit sex

SORM excerpt

"I like it here…with you…in the kitchen." His words were enunciated slowly as she gripped the edge of the sink, pressing her back into the hardness…it was no good, she couldn't go back any further.

"Uh-huh." Daisy cleared her throat, trying to eradicate the huskiness present every time she'd spoken to him that morning.

Micah's eyes narrowed. "What's wrong, Daisy?"

"Nothing." She licked her lips.

"Yes, there is. Are you regretting last night?"

She swallowed, but her throat was bone dry. "Last night." She sucked in a breath as he stood in front of her and his hands landed on either side of her with a thud, coming to rest on the countertop.

"Have you got a boyfriend?"

She shook her head. "No."

"Keep it that way."

"Pardon me."

"Don't go looking for one…we have unfinished business."

She lifted her hands and pushed at his hard chest, which of course was a complete waste of time. "Now look here, you can't tell me what to do."

"Yes, I can." He kissed her hard, short, and succinct, and the power behind it made her knees tremble.

"No, you can't. If I want to go out and find a man, I will." She spoke defiantly with her chin held high, but it was lost in the fact that her chin only came up to his chest, and she had to strain further to look him in the eye. Her fingers tingled at the heat emanating from him. The smooth cotton of his shirt was soft to the touch, and his heartbeat was strong as the beat echoed against her fingertips.

"I don't think so."

"Excuse me." She pulled her head back and looked at him.

"Don't start thinking that you can bed someone else."

Her cheeks heated as she tried to push him away. "What the hell? You can't tell me who I can go to bed with…you hardly know me, and you most certainly don't have the right."

"After last night…you do want me, and if I hadn't stopped we would have been in that bed together. I would've made you forget whatever it is that has made you lose your confidence. You're one of the sexiest, most beautiful women I've ever met, and when I do what I have to…I'm going to show you exactly how much I really want you."

"That's just arrogant."

His smile was slow and sexy, and she was pretty sure that had he not been holding her up she would've glided to the floor in a stream of unbridled lust. His hardness was pressed against her stomach.

"Arrogant?" He shook his head. "No, that's not justifying the way I feel, but I'm confident you feel the same way."

"You think so, huh?" When she'd offered him a bed last night he'd refused.

He kissed her again, a little slower this time. Their kisses were hotter than a sauna on a cold day. She could hear the baby in the background, but it was as if she was a distant voice.

He parted from her just enough to speak and she watched his lips move. They were sexy, and she had to push herself to listen to what he was saying.

"I have to fly out today. I have a meeting tomorrow I need to be at, but when Amy goes down for her nap, we need to talk. I need to tell you why I'm here."

She frowned as his words penetrated her sex-befuddled mind. "What do you mean why you're here? I thought it was something to do with a golf course?"

"Actually…that was a lie."

"I knew there was something not quite right about that. If a golf course was going to be built I would've known. Jeez, you can't sneeze on this island without everybody knowing before you've even finished." She narrowed her eyes. Something was definitely going on. She pushed him away, catching him off balance.

* * * *

The look of worry that crossed her features made Micah want to kick himself. He hadn't meant to say anything, but damn it all to hell, he didn't seem to have much control over anything when she was around, including speech. He was trained to take all kinds of torture and not say a word, and now he only had to look at her and he was like some dribbling teenager.

"Daisy, I'm–" Before he could get his words out the frantic tone of her voice stopped him.

"You're from them, aren't you?" She leaned over, lifted Amy up from her chair and wrapped her arms around the baby. "You can just go back and tell whoever it is you work for that I don't have it…zilch…zitto, and even if I did, you wouldn't get a dime from me."

Buy Links: Beachwalk Press    Amazon     Barnes & Noble

SORM About the Author

My home is on the beautiful island of Anglesey on the west coast of North Wales. Anglesey has been my home since the age of eleven after moving here with my mum and dad and three sisters from Scotland.

I'm the proud mother of two grown children. My daughter Emma is a primary school teacher, and my son Christopher is part of the family business.

I'm a health freak and a vegetarian. Pilates class combined with visiting the gym at least four times a week keeps me fit. I love clothes, makeup, and having my nails and hair done. I'm just a girl's girl.

If I'm not in my office pounding the keys I'm sitting in my favorite chair reading books and discovering new authors on my Kindle.

As a young child I loved to write. I always carried a notebook and pen around with me and wrote about everything. I never thought for one moment I would ever be able to pick up a book with my name on it and say "I wrote that". It was a dream come true when I signed with a publisher for my first book in November 2012. So, dare I say at the young age of fifty I think it's time for me to see if those dreams are everything that I hope they will be.

Author Links:  Site    Facebook   Twitter 

SORM Giveaway

The author is giving one lucky a winner a choice of any eBook off her backlist.
 For a chance to win please fill out the rafflecopter below.

May 8, 2014

Island Bride by Danica Winters

SOR Island Bride VBT BannerGenre: Contemporary Romance

Wedding planner to the rich and famous, Amy Oliver isn't the kind of woman to take a break even on a vacation. No, business first and then comes pleasure—or maybe not—she’d have to check her schedule.
When Amy selects to take a once-in-a-lifetime adventure to New Zealand, she finds herself using the trip to put her career first. But when life gets in the way of her work, she is forced to decide whether to follow the path of least resistance or forge a new path--a path that may lead to heartache as easily as love. What is a driven woman to do?

SORM excerpt

While she waited in the New Zealand hotel’s bar for her assistant, Amy Oliver’s thoughts wandered to Jason. After a long day like this, she used to slip her fingers into his as soon as she sank into their bed. His fingers would collapse around hers, as if they had waited all day for her presence. Yet, the longer she held his hand, no matter how hard or how light her grip, the less and less she had felt his touch. Before long, just as she had lost the feeling of his fingers night after night, she had lost his love—even though their skins had been pressed together.

The bar around her was almost empty except for a couple who sat in the shadows. Amy took a long drink from the glass of Chardonnay and sat it back down on the bar. Droplets of condensation pooled where her fingers had pressed against the glass. Love in a touch. Love lost in that same touch. It all depended on the force. How right they had been.

Why hadn’t she listened?

The Chardonnay tasted harsh and dry, but it was nothing compared to the Arctic chill that had invaded her core.

“You ready, Amy?” Her assistant, Honeysuckle, called from the door of the hotel lounge. A large binder was stuffed against her blood-red business suit, like it was the only life preserver in a sea filled with sharks.

What parent in their right mind would name their daughter Honeysuckle?

The woman perched on the tips of her Choo’s like she was ready to pirouette across the bar. Her red hair was pulled back with one perfect little curl framing her face. No matter the amount of hairspray or thousand dollar suits, Honeysuckle still carried the shame of an overly sweet-scented name that must have been given to her by a tribe of left-over lovechildren.

“Come on!” Honeysuckle made her way across the bar, unaware of the interruption she caused in Amy’s pity party. “The wedding starts tomorrow and the florist says they’re running late with a shipment. The orchids won’t be arriving until tomorrow morning and now he’s saying that there’s no way he can get all forty-seven arrangements completed before six.”

Amy dipped her finger in the pool of condensation on her wine glass and licked it from her fingertip. Her chance at love may have come and gone, but that didn’t mean she could ignore the ignorant bliss of those who paid her to fantasize about theirs. Happy hour was officially over.

 Buy Links:  Amazon

Check out book one The Empress of Ireland

Laila Byrne made a final promise to her friend. She will travel more and work less. After sticking a pin in a map of the world, she heads off to Ireland.Laila's trip doesn't work out as planned, but the mix-up results in a chance encounter with a handsome Irishman, Alasdair.

Alasdair spends all his waking hours trying to figure out how to keep his family’s century old pub, The Empress of Ireland, open for business. He doesn’t have time for anything. But when the lovely American comes across his path, will he find time?

Once you come to Ireland, you may never leave.

Buy Links: Amazon 

SORM About the Author

Danica Winters is a bestselling author who is known for writing award-winning books that grip readers with their ability to drive emotion through suspense and often a touch of magic. She is also the Assistant Editor for Books To Go Now Publishing.

When she’s not working she can be found in the wilds of Montana working on her patience while she tries to understand the allure of various crafts (quilting, pottery, and painting are not her thing). She always believes the cup is neither half full nor half empty, but it better be filled with wine.

Author Links: Site       Facebook      Twitter

SORM Giveaway

 Danica is giving away two e-book copies of Christmas Romance Anthology, and five Swag Packs (US only)
For a chance to win please fill out the rafflecopter below.

May 7, 2014

Wolf's Strength - Caedmon Series by Ambrielle Kirk

Genre: Paranormal

SOR Wolf's Strength VBT Banner
Tension grows between old rivals...

Cold-blooded murder sparks a feud that could lead to the deadliest civil war in Pack history. Alpha Devin Caedmon and his council are tempted to risk all that is precious to protect their bloodline. Tristan Arnou, the rival Pack's leader, isn't the only force trying to tear down the unity holding them together. All threats must be eliminated before their entire race is destroyed.

Forbidden love burns like a wildfire... There is one woman who Blake DeLuca loves more than anything else: Naomi Valentine. Despite the escalating battle and power struggles among their leaders, the erotic fire between these two lovers has yet to be extinguished. Naomi's heart belongs to Blake, but her allegiance lies with Arnou. She's left with two choices...assume her duty or accept Blake's eternal bond?

In Wolf's Strength secrets are exposed, and memories that were buried long ago have resurfaced. The game of deception is a deadly one. There can be no peace until the bloodshed ends.

SORM excerpt

“Why, Naomi? Why do we have to go on like this?”

She swallowed. “There are a million reasons why, and you’re aware of every single one of them.”

“Let’s run away. Somewhere far…and then we won’t have to worry about it.”

That had been the plan when they were young, but now they were adults with important responsibilities.

“Stop talking nonsense. You know that’s impossible. You have your duty and I have mine.” As she said this, she glimpsed a bit of remorse in his eyes, but there was something strange mixed with it. “You’re different.

Your eyes are…”

“Then the news hasn’t reached your Pack?” he inquired.

“There are traitors among Arnou. Tristan and his Council are selective about whom they share information with.” She peered across the other side of the building, sensing her brothers had not left the area. “I have to go.”

“Wait!” He tightened his grip on her hand and lifted a brow. “What do you mean traitors?”

She nodded. “Real traitors. Apparently, vital secrets were released about Arnou’s plan for our Pack. Tristan has interrogated many suspects. He threatens the life of any who cross him.”

Blake’s nose flared and his fingers tightened on her waist. “Get out before it’s too late.”

“It is too late,” she said firmly. “Back to the subject. What news are you referring to?”

“I don’t want you concerned.”

“Really? Or is it because you think word will reach Arnou after you’ve told me?”

Blake grinned but only for a split second. “Trust me, your leader knows what happened. Maybe he’s ashamed to admit his failure to his followers.”

“What failure?”

In that moment his eyes grew red and he stared at her under heavy dark eyelashes. She tried to pull away, but his firm hold on her prevented them for parting.

“What’s been missing for centuries that both Alphas want?”

Naomi narrowed her eyes. “They both want absolute power of the North American territories. But what do you mean? What has been missing?”

“It’s been so long, but have you forgotten already?” He lowered his voice as he spoke this time.

“As an Elite we’re handpicked to guard the Alpha, eliminate his threats, and clean up after his messes. I’m not paid, nor do I make it my priority to delve into anything else.”

“Ah…is that so? You and I both know you don’t follow Arnou’s rules to the T.” He slid his nose against the side of her neck, causing her to shiver against him. “I’m a threat to your leader and the pledge you made to him, am I not?”

Naomi bit her bottom lip as Blake’s canines replaced his nose against her throat. “Just tell me what the fuck you’re talking about. What is missing?”

His manhood hardened against her belly. “What should I do with that naughty mouth of yours, huh?” He pressed his hot tongue against her pulsing jugular.

Her knees buckled as he released the pheromones from his tongue and awakened her wolf. It was his way of marking her internally, and her hungry pores absorbed all of it.

“Tell me,” she urged.


A long howl from the distance startled them both. It was Nathan warning her she needed to hurry.

“Come with me—permanently,” Blake demanded without releasing her. “And you’ll know everything.”

“No.” She pulled out of his embrace. “I have to go before someone discovers us. Why are you still here?

You’ll get caught too.”

“I know the sheriff downstairs. We’ll handle the cover up.”

“Must be nice to have ranking in the human world.”

His lips spread into a smile. “The sheriff isn’t humankind.”

“Figures.” Caedmon royalty had connections like that inside as well as outside the shifter world. It almost made her think they had more of a chance than her Arnou leader.

Blake frowned. “How do you expect me to protect you from so far away?”

“You left me years ago.” She pointed at his chest. “You should have thought about that before you made that decision.”

“Don’t…” He tried to reach her, but she continued to back away. “You still want to use that against me? We agreed to a plan years ago. You didn’t follow through.”

She swallowed. He was right. At the last minute she’d all but betrayed him. “I would go with you, but just like it was years ago, there is more than my life at stake.”

Wolf’s Desire (Caedmon Wolves, 4)

WolfsDesire 500x750When Keira becomes a widow, she realizes that the life she once had wasn’t normal after all. After her husband is brutally murdered, she is more than just alone but vulnerable to threats and tangled in a web of greed. Her decisions lead her into a corner, and safety is jeopardized.

Aiden, Caedmon Council member, has never failed when it comes to fulfilling the terms of his employment contract. When he is hired to protect an heiress, he doesn’t plan on her being the only woman to bring both challenge and purpose in his life. Without hesitation, he vows to keep the grieving Keira safe—even from himself.

Keira trusts Aiden unconditionally and finds joy whenever they are together, but can love transcend a tragedy? Aiden’s urge to protect her is just as great as his desire to claim her. Once the passion is unleashed and fueled by the need to have all of her, the wolf will accept nothing less than his mate.

Buy Links:  Amazon     ARe      B&N

Title: Wolf’s Haven (Caedmon Wolves, 1)

WolfsHaven 500x750Tamara would risk her life to gain freedom. She's finally built up the courage to escape from a world of abuse by the hands of the man who promised her the world. One night she makes a break for it, but her plans backfire. She begins to believe that she was never meant to be happy. When all hope of freedom fades, she stumbles across a wolf that brings her to safety. She learns to trust the wolf, but has yet to trust the man.

Devin, potential future leader of the Caedmon Pack, returns to the foothills of his Virginia home after five long years as a lone wolf. Rivals within the circle challenge him and threaten to strip him of his true birthright. Being bound to lead the pack was not something Devin had planned for his life, but letting his people fall prey to turmoil under the rule of his cousin Darius is out of the question. The night of Devin’s rise to Alpha leader is approaching. Despite opposition, he’s gained an impressive following. That is until he brings a human among the pack.

Tamara can’t deny the attraction she feels toward Devin. The Alpha leader-to-be simply cannot resist Tamara’s lure. When they are together, their tribulations take the backburner. Their desire for one another grows as they consummate their passion in wolf’s haven. Will Devin forfeit the most coveted position within the Caedmon Pack to bond with his chosen mate? Can Tamara trust Devin with her mind, heart, body, and soul or will the memories of her abuse dissuade her from being bound to the wolf?

Buy Links:  Amazon       ARe       B&N

Multi-published author Ambrielle Kirk writes diverse, edgy and seductive romance: multicultural erotic, paranormal romance, and urban fantasy. A bestselling author in several sub-genres at ARe and Amazon, she’s a 2012 Swirl Award Winner and 2014 RONE’ Awards Nominee in the paranormal romance. She's a PAN member of RWA, FF&P special interest chapter of RWA, and co-founder and treasurer of Cultural, Interracial, and Multicultural special interest chapter of RWA.

She loves weaving tales where undying love is the main element. When she's not writing, she's plotting. When she's not writing or plotting, she's reading. She's a thirty-something year old wife, mother, book hoarder, 90s music fan, earl grey tea drinker, dark roast coffee fiend, platform and stiletto shoe collector, Keurig lover, and martial arts/action movie fanatic.

Author Links:   Site      Blog       Facebook       Twitter

SORM Giveaway

Ambrielle Kirk is giving away to one lucky winner a $15 GC.
For a chance to win please fill out the rafflecopter below.

May 6, 2014

My Wolf Cowboy by Rose Wynters

SOR My Wolf Cowboy VBT BannerGenre: Paranormal Romance, BBW Romance

 Wolf Town Guardians – Born to walk this world as both wolf and human, these men take their role as protectors very seriously. Enjoying sensual pleasures as they please, this group of alpha werewolves are the finest when it comes to protecting their hidden settlement.

Guardians are the masters of self-control, taking pride in their authority and hard, muscled bodies. That all changes at the first scent of their mates. Their control snaps. The mating heat begins.

This is their stories.

To claim his mate, Connor will have to break all of the rules…

It’s a good thing rules were made to be broken.

Connor Bouchard is a werewolf with a huge secret. He’s mated, but he’s done everything he can to avoid claiming her. But the wolf that lives within him has had enough. And even if it means war, this alpha cowboy will have his mate.

Natalie Miller spent her entire life living on the Amish settlement in Missouri. Her world was safe… Until the night everything exploded in her face. She learns that nothing about her life was what it seemed… Even her. In a fiery blaze of horror, secrets are revealed… And an enemy of old comes back into play.

Forced to accept Connor’s protection, Natalie refuses to indulge in the attraction that lies between them. She didn’t count on the heat, though. It burns within her as she craves a satisfaction that she never needed before. Natalie finds herself wanted by two men, both of them willing to fight to the death to have her. Only one of them is destined by fate to have her, though.

Connor has to seduce her, the sooner the better. The full moon is quickly approaching, his opponent determined to possess his mate. Can Connor tame this wild filly before it’s too late?

SORM excerpt

He stopped in front of a stall. A horse watched them warily, her body locked in place. She was a gleaming shade of dark chestnut with a white star on her forehead. There was something almost vulnerable about the horse, something that touched Natalie deeply. “She’s beautiful, Connor. What’s her name?”

“Her name is Star,” he replied, staring at Natalie. “And she’s yours.”

“What do you mean?” She gasped out, staring between him and the horse. “This is my surprise?”

“Indeed it is.” Connor looked at the horse with a frown. “She’s a rescued horse. Her previous owners treated her horribly. It’s a wonder that she even survived, but she did. Star is resilient, but she’s not able to trust anyone. When I heard about her, I knew she needed you.” He stopped to look down at her, his expression unreadable. “Even more, I think you need her.”

“Thank you, Connor,” Natalie said, her voice trembling. She was touched by his gift, more so than words could say. Overcome by it all, she surprised them both when she hugged him.

His arms wrapped around her quickly, holding her tight. A long moment passed, and then another. In her mind, she fit perfectly within the shelter of his arms. She wondered if Connor felt the same.

“You’ve got to be shitting me,” a male’s voice interrupted them, his tone loud and incredulous.“Connor, even in the barn? Really?” He sounded disgusted as he added, “This man ought to be neutered. It’s not safe to let him roam the streets, woods, or even barns. Once he was even caught messing with one of Alexander’s maids, and you want to know what’s worse? He was wearing red lipstick.”

Natalie jerked away from Connor. She was mortified by the other man’s words. Peeking past Connor’s large frame, she saw a large Native American male standing about twenty feet back. He was with a pretty blonde female who looked extremely exasperated. He had to be another guardian, his size and demeanor left no doubts in her mind to his identity.

Connor rolled his eyes and smirked before turning around to greet him. “Oh, hell,” he drawled out in a mocking tone of voice. “So Marrok is back and looking just as grouchy as he always did. What’s the matter, old boy? Did you piss your mate off on the honeymoon and get your sorry ass thrown out in the doghouse?”

Buy Links: Amazon      Barnes and Noble      All Romance eBooks

SORM About the Author

Rose Wynters is the author of the Wolf Town Guardians series, the Territory of the Dead series, and the Endurers series. As an avid traveler, she enjoys exploring new places and meeting new people. She also likes camping and seeking out the unusual, especially if there is an urban legend behind it.

Author Links:  Site      Blog       Twitter      Facebook

SORM Giveaway

Rose Wynters is giving away a $10 Amazon Gift card to one lucky winner.
For a chance to win please fill out the rafflecopter below.

May 5, 2014

Defector by Denysè Bridger

Genre: Thriller
SOR Defecter VBT BannerAndrew Dahle is a career spook, with no messy emotional ties to complicate his life. He’s worked with the best, and despite himself, he’s about to discover that he’s got friends he really didn’t know he wanted.

A straight-forward operation to grab a defector before he can leave the country with a top secret project goes wildly awry, and forces Andrew to choose between saving the life of a colleague’s son or nailing his target. To his great surprise, he saves the young man’s life, and wakes up in a hospital.

Grateful, Richard MacAvoy, a retired agent with his own elite contacts and players, steps in when Dahle is injured saving his son. Desperate to complete his mission, Andrew reluctantly accepts the help MacAvoy offers, and in the process just might learn that alone isn’t always the best way to work, and friends might be worth the vulnerability he’s always shunned.

SORM excerpt

Andrew felt the shadows releasing him, the sensation an abrupt, disturbing awareness that he knew he shouldn’t be experiencing. He trusted the instinctive alertness, though, and waited for the sound to give him a clear indication of where the danger was coming from. It only took a few minutes to locate the source, and Dahle’s eyes flew open just as the needle was being inserted into the I.V. tube that ran into his arm.

Andrew pulled the intravenous out as he forced his body into motion that it clearly objected to. The man hovering over his bed jumped back, his surprise giving Dahle his only chance to make a useful move.

Andrew threw himself off the bed and into the man next to it, taking them both down to the floor with a solid thud. He recovered quickly and landed a jarring blow to the man’s jaw. In the few seconds it took for the attacker to shake himself free of the pain, Dahle located the gun inside the other man’s coat. He pulled it free of the holster and pressed the barrel snugly between the man’s terrified eyes.

“Who sent you?” he demanded, the words little more than a rasp. He could feel the pulses of pain building with each breath, and he knew he’d probably torn apart whatever stitching the doctors had done earlier.

Dahle saw the refusal to answer before his assailant tried to offer him a response. He shifted his hold on the gun, then brought it down against the side of the man’s head, the action little more than a blur of smooth, practiced motion.

Andrew staggered to his feet and glanced around the room, suddenly expecting menace from every angle. He went to the locker and yanked his bloodstained clothes from the hangers. He dressed quickly, the gun within easy reach as he kept one eye on the door, then he slipped into position and waited. Instinct and experience told him there’d be more than one man sent for this kind of job. This one would have needed a lookout to warn him of possible interruptions by hospital staff.

He didn’t have to wait long for confirmation of his assessment. The door inched inward and Andrew banged the heavy metal panel back on the intruder, causing him to stumble. With a swiftness that stirred to life all the pain that he’d been fighting, Andrew reached for the wobbling figure and hauled him into the room. As the door swung shut on virtually silent hinges, Dahle slammed his captive against the wall and glared into the dazed features of the startled man.

He recovered a little more quickly than his partner and before Andrew could prevent it, he was struck soundly in the stomach. Gasping, Dahle almost passed out completely when the man’s fist came down hard on his injured shoulder, and he lost his grip on the gun he had been holding. He wheeled back and barely managed to dodge another punch aimed at his vulnerable shoulder. He spun on his heel, used the momentum, and landed a surprisingly solid kick to the second attacker’s midsection. He went down on his knees in front of Andrew and Dahle grabbed a handful of hair, then yanked back with all his strength. He heard the distinct crack of bones, then released the man to fall into a lifeless heap at his feet.

Glancing around him, Andrew knew the room would be crawling with people before too much longer. He needed to get out of the hospital, and quickly. Picking up the weapon he’d dropped minutes earlier, he ducked his head around the door. When he saw no one coming in the direction of his room, he slipped into the corridor and headed for the elevator.

He didn’t get to the end of the hall before he heard the sounds of commotion behind him. The bodies in his room must have been discovered a little more quickly than he was anticipating. He looked automatically toward the elevator and realized he wasn’t going to reach it, or the stairs, without being spotted. His entire body was alive with pain and he could feel the knots in his stomach twisting tighter as he fought down the agony-induced nausea. He stumbled into a wall as another wash of dizziness blurred his vision and threw off his balance. With an effort of sheer determination, Andrew reached for the door knob and almost fell into the room...

Buy Links: Midnight Frost   Amazon 

SORM About the Author

Canadian born and bred, and a lifelong dreamer, I began writing at an early age and can’t recall a time when I wasn’t creating in some artistic form. My life has had several on-going love affairs that shape much of what I write, the American West, Victorian England, cowboys, a passion for pirates, Greek Gods, and Ancient Egypt. The other endless love affairs in my life are Italia and all its magic, beauty, and dazzling culture, and a passion for Romania. Those loves spill into all aspects of my life.
In the past half dozen years, I’ve signed with over a dozen publishers, and have released books in all lengths and genres, and it’s something I hope to continue to do for many more years. A visit to my website will show the diversity of what is currently available, and the mixing of genres and styles that will be employed in many up-coming projects as well.

Voted Preditors and Editors Best Author of 2012 and 2013

Author Links: Website      Twitter       Facebook