May 31, 2012

Decadent Thursdays - Sensation Play by Ann Mayburn a 1NS story

Title: Sensation Play
Author: Ann Mayburn
Author Webpage:
Author Twitter:
Author Facebook:
Pages: 41 pages
Genre:Contemporary romance, BDSM, erotic romance, rubenesque
Price: $2.99
Release Date: February 28, 2012
Publisher: Decadent Publishing
Heat Level:  4
Rating: 4
Reviewed by: Tamaria Soana
Source: Decadent Publishing

Retired German cage fighter, Jonas Becker, has finally settled down in Las Vegas to open his own training center. A chance meeting with his dream woman at a charity ball leads him to hanging out at her favorite coffee shop where he overhears the perfect opportunity to win her over. One orgasm at a time.

Erica Alman is sick of her overprotective older brother's ruining her love life, especially after they chased away that amazing mystery man that she had danced with a the charity ball six months ago. With the help of her best friend, she signs up with the 1 Night Stand dating service. Her request is simple. She wants a dangerous, rough man to fake break into her hotel room at the Castillo resort and force her to have multiple orgasms. Oh, and she wants the man to be big, bald, and have a German accent, just like Jonas.

Using every ounce of his skill as an experienced Dom, Jonas hopes to win Erica over before the night ends. He can only hope that the pleasure he can bring her will make the beautiful woman look past his scarred and battered exterior to the man within who can give her sensations like no other.


Erica perched on the edge of the hotel bed at the Castillo Resort and played with the small silver pendant that lay in the hollow of her throat. To the casual eye, it looked like a piece of jewelry any woman might wear, but if she pressed on the front and back at the same time, it would set off a silent alarm. Madame Eve had left a package at the front counter when she checked in and the note inside let her know that if she found herself in a situation she didn’t want to be in, all she had to do was press the button and hotel security would be there in an instant.

As if she wasn’t nervous enough about this blind date. Oh, he had passed the same rigorous background check that she had, but that didn’t ease her jitters. While the necklace provided a sense of security, her over active imagination still conjured up scenes in which pressing the button wouldn’t save her. Her tension ratcheted up again and she struggled to remain calm. She hadn’t spent four hours shopping for lingerie to sweat through it before they even met.

A quick glance at the massive chrome and steel mirror that hung over the gas fireplace confirmed that at least her body looked ready for sex even as her mind went into hyper spazz mode. Covered by a sheer black robe, a black lace nightie clung to her generous breasts and flared around her waist, falling to mid-thigh. As if that wasn’t scandalous enough, she’d tied thick, black lace ribbons around her wrists and ankles, looping the ends into bows, a silent invitation to her blind date to tie her up. At least that’s what Lara, an experienced Domme, had said.

The phone rang, making her reflection in the mirror jump so high she couldn’t help but laugh at herself. She looked like one of those cartoon cats clinging to the ceiling. The laughter helped chase away her nerves and she managed to answer the phone without having a heart attack. “Hello?”

A man’s voice, deep and thick with a deliciously rough accent rumbled into her ear. “Good evening, Erica. My name is Jonas and I am your date.”

Her whole body buzzed with a rush of hormones. Accents always turned her on and made her weak in the knees. “Hi, Jonas.” She mentally scrambled, trying to figure out what to say to a man who would soon stage a fake break-in to her hotel room and role-play a forced seduction scene with her.

“I’m ready whenever you are.”

Tamaria's Review

My addiction to this series was defiantly feed with Sensation Play. This is such a sexy, sweet and emotional story.

Erica has very over protective brothers that take things to an insane level when it comes to her dating. When she meets a handsome man that fascinates here at a charity event her brother intercedes and the mystery man disappears.

Jonas, is a retired fighter and Dom. He held his dream woman in his arms for a brief moment at a charity ball before she was whisked away. He's longs to bring her amazing pleasure, one sensation at a time.

This story kept glued to my kindle, wondering what will happen next. 

I give Sensation Play 4 out of 5 Stars!

Buy Links:  Amazon     Decadent Publishing

Decadent Thursday - Last Request by Arlene Webb a 1NS story

Title: Last Request
Author: Arlene Webb
Author Webpage:
Author Twitter:!/Arlene_Webb_
Author Facebook:
Pages: 40 pages
Genre: Contemporary romance, suspense, erotic romance
Price: $2.99
Release Date:April 25,2012
Publisher: Decadent Publishing
Rating: 5 Stars
Heat level: 4
Reviewed by : Tamaria Soana
Source: Purchased



Joan not only knows how to keep them, she hoards information. After all, blurting truths could prolong her life and that’s not something she’s willing to allow.

As a renowned journalist, exposing lies is Wesley’s job, but being honest extends to revealing his own agenda as well. He admits on the application he’s been asked to write a story kicking up any dirt he can on Madam Evangeline’s dating service.


Joan has a reputation to uphold. Labeled a promiscuous monster, authorities shouldn’t be surprised her offer to finally tell them where the skeletons are comes at a price. One date, one night, one final fling.

Wesley doesn’t need one date, one night, a simple fling. Women eyeball him all the time. He knows some hookup service can’t find him his heart’s desire, a sweetheart to cherish for a long and committed lifespan, but he won’t make it a slam-dunk for them by saying otherwise.

Warning Notice:
If secrets stay buried and desire is feared instead of embraced, electricity will flow and not in a good way.


May 15, 2035

Dear Madame Evangeline,

As you can see by my attached application, I am an ideal candidate for your matching service. Unless you believe in ghosts (ha ha), it’ll be impossible for me to breach contract by attempting to find anyone who wishes to remain a stranger after a one-night stand.

This would surely be a risk-free set up for any potential date. Please consider leaving out details of my identity, as I fear opportunistic journalists/news reporters. With that in mind, I left the preferred height, weight, shape, race, personality, and so forth options blank. Clean with an XY chromosome is more than I deserve, and all this sinner would hope for.

If you’re wondering how one such as me could have the audacity to even contact you, well, what do I have to lose? I beg pardon for my crudeness, but seeing as electrocution is currently an acceptable form of execution in this sovereign state, I’ve fantasized for months about a bang the night prior to the roast.

I have the means to persuade the warden into allowing this rendezvous to happen. Authorities may agree just to avoid agitation between the anticipated media spectacle and me. There’s been much controversy concerning a woman in the electric chair for the first time in a decade, and the warden expects I’ll remain steadfast in my refusal to appeal or prolong the inevitable. With consideration of my right to exit this world sooner rather than later, I anticipate every home within a thousand mile radius will have their power off Saturday afternoon, two weeks from today.

I’ll be moved to the D ward shortly and unable to converse further with anyone but the chaplain and warden. Please consider this my last request.


Prison number 24609

Joan Bennett


Tamaria's Review

It's no secret that I'm addicted to the 1 Night Series. When I seen last Request on the Decadent Site I knew I wanted to read it. I've never read a premise like this before. Last Request didn't disappoint.  My heart broke for Joan and Wesley well he was all kinds of sexy. I literally was shaking with anticipation by the end of the book.

Arleen Webb puts you on an emotional journey. I laughed, I became angry, and I cried. This book has it all! I give Last Request 5 out of  5 Stars!

May 30, 2012

Review: Barely Dreaming by Stephanie Beck

Title: Barely Dreaming
Author Twitter: @StephBeck123
Author Facebook:
Pages: 95
Genre: Fantasy Romance
Price: $3.99
Publisher: Beachwalk Press
Source: Publisher
Blurb: As dreams come alive, trouble lurks around the corner.

When Neela Raymond and three of her college girlfriends take a camping trip over spring break, they’re abducted by a group of men and held captive for a week. At least that’s what Neela’s been told—she can’t remember any details of the horrifying event. But one thing is very apparent—during that week she became pregnant. Afraid of the possibilities, Neela finds it difficult to attend classes, eat, or sleep.

When Neela finally falls asleep, she wakes in a dream world, where she finds Gabe O’Shay. Though she can’t remember him either, something in her recognizes him.

Gabe and Neela are best friends of a different sort. Created in Neela’s mind when she was just a child, Gabe has always been her dream friend, growing as she did, to eventually become the man of her dreams.

With Gabe’s help, Neela’s memory begins to return, and ugly truths emerge. Snagged in a violent, illegal scheme, Neela will have to struggle for survival. The nightmare is not over yet.

Meanwhile, Gabe has managed to find a tear between the dream world and the real world, but will he arrive too late to help his Neela?

Reviewer: Viari Rose

Barely Dreaming is a unique, engaging read. Neela has her memory wiped, the week she dreaded the most, the one her mind blocked from her memory, is the one that she needs the most. Though not all wish for her memory to be returned. A danger where you least expect it.

It is a quick read, though once you pick it up, you will not be putting it down until the last page has turned. Stephanie Beck has a style all her own, one that I quite enjoy and can't wait for her next book to come out.

Hit Amazon or Beachwalk Press to catch this novella.

Want to win a Kindle Fire?

I'm sure you've noticed that I love3 the kindle, sure I read on my computer and I am just fine with that. Though a kindle Fire would be nice. Would you like to win one?

Well Maple Casino is hosting a Kindle Fire giveaway.

And the contest be here, just so you don't have to search everywhere for it.

~Viari Rose

May 29, 2012


I'm sure you've head of NaNoWriMo, it's held every year in November. You aim to write 50,000 words in 30 days. JuNoWriMo is the June equivalent.  November is kinda hectic for me, being so near the holidays. That I figured I'd give JuNoWriMo a go. 

So I'm going to go write 50,000 words of a first draft, no stopping, no editing. Writing 1667 words a day, I think I can do that. Also it gives me that extra added support to keep writing. 

So, anyone going to join me for JuNoWriMo? 

May 26, 2012

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is hosted by Tynga's Reviews , the purpose is to show the books that we received in the last week, what we've bought, won, borrowed from a friend or from the library.

It's been awhile, so I'm going to be giving you what I received in the last two weeks. Here we go, it's going to be a long one.

From Beachwalk Press

From Decadent Publishing
1NightStand and Edge Series (Shorts)

Author Review Requests

From Library
Remember this is two weeks, not just one week. 

We have a large Library system in the city I live in. There are 32 branches, and we can request any title that any of the 32 branches carries and they will ship the book to our neighborhood library branch. 

Also they have a Lucky Day shelf, which are the popular titles that you can not request, and cannot renew, but if they are on the shelf you can check them out, for a three week period.
Library haul is insane I know, this is the amount I get every other month. I have two teenage daughters, they are 13 & 14 and I read each YA before they touch it. To approve it and also then it's something we can discuss together. My youngest one and I have had many a discussion on Four from Divergent.

I was lucky with Divergent and Insurgent, both were on the Lucky Day shelf when they opened Tuesday morning. 

I read through them quite easily, I read books quite fast, I went through the Mortal Instruments books 1 through 3  in a day and a half. 

Needless to say we are lucky to have such a awesome Library system. 

Not YA
These two I have been waiting for so long for and they finally came in.

Yeah that's it. 

What are you reading?

May 24, 2012

Decadent Thursdays- Almost Perfect

Title: Almost Perfect
Series: 1 Night Stand
Author: Jenna Jaxson
Author Twitter: @Jenna_Jaxon
Edition: Kindle
Pages: 39
Genre: Erotica
Price: $3.99
Publisher: Decadent Publishing
Source: Gift
Reviewer: Viari Rose
Blurb: Pamela Kimball’s birthday present, a 1Night Stand adventure, promises to jump start her life, put a new man in her bed, and help her forget her past. Unfortunately, movie-buff Pam’s Pirates of the Caribbean fantasy takes an alarming wrong turn when she’s abandoned on a not quite deserted island—with ex-husband Roger Ware.

Forced by hunger to accept Roger’s offer of dinner, Pam realizes the geek she married has transformed into one of the most charming, sexiest men she’s ever met. His newfound confidence—and hot body—re-kindles old fires. A simple kiss leads Roger to challenge her to discover how much his lovemaking skills have improved, leaving Pam torn between self-preservation and burning desire.

With time running out before they’re rescued, Pam must decide if her heart can survive the consequences of becoming Roger’s “almost” perfect 1Night Stand.

Almost Perfect also is a cure for the cause, in which Decadent Publishing donates money to a cause, this month they are donating to The American Cancer Society's Relay for Life program.

Review: Almost Perfect has everything adventure, romantic dinner, a deserted island, hot smoking sex. 

Pamela is very movie centric, comparing to what she is going through at moment to movies and shows that she has seen, and I found that very enduring. 

Roger has changed very much over the past two years since he kicked Pam out of their house and out of his life. Surprises that are constantly making Pamela think, for both of them they are different, yet they still have that love. 

It was extremely well written, with a stunning setup, the character development was perfect.  Pam and Roger were smoking hot. Jenna Jaxon will take you on a roller coaster ride of emotions. This is one you won't likely forget anytime soon. Almost perfect is as perfect as a book gets, I only wished it was longer. Almost Perfect gets a 5 out of 5 stars. 

If you haven't read a 1NS stand before, what are you waiting for? Come see what makes this series so addicting. 

May 22, 2012

However Long The Night Tour

Today on the blog, we have a tour spot for David Perada's However Long The Night. 

Cuban-born, award-winning Miami Architect and successful real estate developer Cid Milan suddenly faces a dilemma when his dying father reveals to him a shocking twenty-five year old family secret. Cid realizes there is only one thing he can do to unravel the mystery of his own past and right the wrongs committed. He must return to the land he abandoned. In his quest, Cid rediscovers himself and his roots as he searches frantically throughout Cuba for his teenage flame, Sandra, and the secret she kept from him all these years. In the process, Cid learns an invaluable lesson about love, forgiveness and redemption which changes his life forever.

Cid and Manny leaned against the rail on the crammed upper deck of the venerable boat,
watching the retreating Cuban coastline. Vessels of all sizes motored out of the harbor, seeking
the open sea. The noise was deafening. Passengers screamed and boat captains blew their
horns. On deck a group of men drank rum from a bottle and chanted, “Libertad, libertad,
libertad . . . ”

“Many weird-looking people on this boat,” Manny commented. “That man over there looks like a
drug lord.”

“Castro emptied out the jails and let out all the scum along with the political prisoners --
murderers, druggies, thieves, prostitutes. The cream of society.”

“Hear, hear. But we’re out of there and on our way to America. A new life, Brother.” Manny
flashed a big smile to someone behind Cid’s back and added a wolf whistle. “Think you can be
without my charming company a while? A cute girl just gave me the eye. You want to join me
and make new friends?”

Cid shook his head.

“You’re still down about Sandra not coming to say good-bye to you?”

Cid nodded. “It’s been a bad week all around.”

“Things will improve now, Brother. Cheer up. You’re depressing me.” He punched Cid on the
arm playfully. “In a month you might not even remember Sandra. There are tons of beautiful
women in the United States. I’m going to try to get a head start, maybe find me a new girlfriend
right here on this boat. Sure you don’t want to come?”

“I’m sure.”

Author Biography:

David Pereda is an award-winning author who enjoys crafting political thrillers and
mainstream novels. His books have won the Lighthouse Book Awards twice, the Royal
Palm Awards, the National Indie Excellence Awards, and the Readers Favorite Awards.
He has traveled extensively around the world and speaks several languages. Before
devoting his time solely to writing and teaching college-level courses, Pereda had a rich
and successful international consulting career with global giant Booz Allen Hamilton,
where he worked with the governments of Mexico, Venezuela, Peru, and Qatar, among

A member of MENSA, Pereda is the regional director of the Florida Writers Association
and the co-founder of AWE (Asheville Writing Enthusiasts). He loves sports and has
won many prizes competing in track and show-jumping equestrian events.

Pereda lives with his family in Asheville, North Carolina.

Please visit him at…

When Cid left Cuba and left behind a girl that he loved very deeply, something shifted within him. The girl carried his child, though he was not aware of this fact. It is only 25 years later he learns this fact, and he has very limited time to get to Cuba find her, and convince her and their son to return to the States with him before Cid's father takes his last breath. It is a race against time.  

However Long The Night is very much a book about betrayal, and of course redemption. Often is the case, misunderstandings are grave, and love is never ending. 

This book is a contemporary mainstream novel with a romantic elements. It is a clean read, which I highly enjoyed. I found his characters to be a breath of fresh air and the I was unable to put the book down. It is very well paced, the characters were exceptional, and the mystery of what transpired to his lady love after he left Cuba had me on the seat of my chair.  

Over all, the heartbreak, the betrayal, the mystery, and at the heart of it all love, wrapped together wonderfully to tell a beautiful story. 

This book gets a 4 out of 5. 

And Mr. Perada, I have to say as your first shot at a romance was beautifully crafted, I truly hope you will grace us with another in the future.

Disclaimer: I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

However Long the Night

May 21, 2012

Tour Stop: Dreams Do Come True by Harrie Brooks

Dreams Do Come True by Harrie Brooks
Genre: Erotic Romance
Length: Short Story
Blurb: A secret held in the past in memories only but never forgotten. The girl caught in the middle. How long will it be until someone's DREAMS COME TRUE?
The Equinox Fitness Club in downtown Chicago was always crammed with
people. Sam liked that, it was easier to stay away from Tyler. With Tyler
recently getting engaged to his long term girlfriend Ally, the secret
between Tyler and Sam had to remain in their memories only.

Sam headed to the weights and began his training regime, which ended on
the running machine. His trusty mp3 helped him through the intense workout
he and Tyler had worked out to so many months ago. It had provided Sam
with the perfect conditioning to become a semi-professional fighter. His
muscles were tighter and bigger now and it was all thanks to Tyler.

The running machine next to his clicked on, he glanced over at Max who had
started his workout. They nodded at each other before refocusing on their
workouts. Sam had only one thought dance through his mind before he
refocused, why couldnt that be Tyler.

After his workout, Sam retired to the locker room and headed straight for
the showers. He walked to his favourite shower, the one in the corner
where the water always seemed warmer, and let the warm water run over him,
releasing his built up frustration over Tyler. He closed his eyes for a
few minutes but when he opened them again he found he was no longer alone.
Just a couple of shower heads down from Sam stood Tyler. Sam switched off
the shower and bolted not knowing what else to do.

He dried his ink and pierced-free, body down and pulled on his jeans and
shirt before drying his dark brown hair. The door between the locker and
the shower rooms opened and Sam watched the older, heavily tattooed man
walk into the locker room.

Sam rubbed his hair dry and applied the gel, watching Tyler out of the
corner of his eye the whole time.

Hi, Tyler, Sam called over to the other man. As soon as the words left
his mouth, he wished a hole would open up and swallow him.

Tyler nodded at Sam and started to unpack his sports bag; he laid out his
clothes and then pulled his towels out and began to dry himself off.

Sam picked up his Young Guns comic and turned his mp3 on; he settled back
against the wall, wanting to just have a few minutes of peace and quiet
before facing the full gym and his life again. Sam sat back and his mind
faded into his own little world and he began to tap his foot to the music.
He did not notice the locker room empty out, leaving behind a half-naked
Tyler who was drying his short black hair.
Book Trailer:

About Harrie Brooks:

I was born 30 years ago in England. I started writing when I was around 10, only short stories for English but I was told by many teachers I had a skill. I worked hard on this from then and took many routes before ending with the Equinox series you now hold the start to in your “hands”. Tyler, Sam and Reese have been with me for a while and now I want to give their stories the light they need. I hope you enjoy them and read the further stories that will be coming soon.

Connect with Me Online:

Twitter: @HarrieBrooks
My blog

May 17, 2012

Review & Giveaway: A Scent of Longing

Today's post is part The Scent of Longing Tour on CLNB Blog Tours
Title: A Scent of Longing
Series: 1NS
Author: Cara Bristol
Author Website:
Lily Dansen is set up on a 1 Night Stand by her best friend, she's been burned in the past, in fact her last lover was the man who betrayed and turned her. Luc Fortier is a hybrid and has been using Madam Eve's services for quite sometime, though he has already informed her this will be his last one. His heart just isn't in it anymore.

Lily is very untrusting of vampires and with her past it isn't very surprising. Luc is an oddity and most vampires instantly shun him over the half human blood that runs through his veins.
As Luc takes her to bed, their true natures become very apparent and it is HOT! This is by far my favorite 1NS. It's steamy and delicious in all the right spots. The book is perfect. If you like vampires, go pick this one! I give it 5 stars.

Buy on Amazon or from Decadent

Now to the giveaway!
The winner will receive one eBook of their choice from Decadent Publishing. The giveaway will go through Monday May 21st at 12:01 AM EST.

Leave a comment with your email address and an answer to this question!

What's your favorite Decadent book? (And for those who haven't discovered the joy, hit the site here)

May 14, 2012

Sinful Sirens Giveaway Hop

Again we would like to thank Under the Covers and Guilty Pleasures for hosting this hop.

Who doesn't love a sinful siren?
Thank you for stopping by. I will be giving away two books from Decedent Publishing in honor of our new Decadent Thursdays, which will kick off this week. We will have two winners.

One winner will get the 1NS Dare Me by Jennifer Probst

As a military leader back from the war, and the youngest of his two dominant older brothers, Rafe Steele struggles with a secret. He craves surrender in the bedroom under the controlled hands of a Dominatrix. When his brothers offer him a one-night stand through Madame Eve’s dating service, he jumps at the chance to enact his fantasy. After one experiment, he’s sure he’ll be able to move on. But he never counted on Summer Preston to strip down his walls and make him want more than one night...

An elementary school teacher with a girl next door, fresh face, Summer is constantly barraged by men who want to take care of her, but she longs to meet a strong man who can handle her dominant ways in the bedroom. Trapped in her own storybook life, she books a one-night stand with Madame Eve to finally experience her fantasy. But she never counted on Rafe Steele to push her boundaries in both the bedroom...and her heart.

The Second Winner will get Lipstick and Jazz (An Edge Series Book)

Everyone secretly yearns to be wild and uninhibited—everyone, whether they admit to it or not.

During the hottest night of debauchery in New Orleans, Jazz yearns for someone who is not there, someone she never even officially met. Without hope for a lusty tryst with the hot stranger who haunts her wet dreams, she relies on a wicked, little tube of lipstick to vibrate her to release from the longing she suffers.

When the sexy blue-eyed stranger suddenly appears in her private room above the French Quarter, what can she do? Her fantasies about this man are about to become a reality and he’s doing everything she’s been dreaming of, but how will she hide the little sex toy purring between her thighs?

Will she lose her chance for a night of glorious romping, when he finds she is wearing some very risqué lipstick?

Keep on hopping!

Blog hop runs from 12:01 AM May15th through to 11:59 PM May 20th, 2012. If the winner doesn't get back to us withing 48 hours, we will choose a new winner. This giveaway is US only.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

May 9, 2012

Guest Post: A.L Jackson

I have a special guest with me today. In all actuality she is my first guest and I was honored that she is with me today. I read and reviewed Take This Regret, which was an awesome read. I present A.L Jackson.

What Makes a Story Memorable?

First of all, I wanted to thank Viari for inviting me to share with you all today on The eBook Reviewers. It’s great to be here!

What is your favorite book? As readers, aspiring writers, and authors, this is a question we are asked time and time again. It’s one that normally strikes me dumb, because I really can never pick just one. My favorites seem to change page to page and book to book.

But what is it about those stories that have earned that title as one of my favorites? Why is it that some books are forgotten within days while others become so special to us that we remember them forever?

For me, it’s emotion. I want to feel as if I know each character that I read and that I’m experiencing what they feel. If I’m hard pressed to remember characters’ names or faces days after I’ve finished a book, then it’s made little impact on me and won’t be one that I’ll remember in the long term. It’s the ability of a writer to show me a character’s heart, to reveal their fears and desires, and to maybe even cause me to fall a little bit in love with them that makes a book one of my favorites. I love when I become so absorbed in a story that it almost becomes real—when a character becomes real, then the story becomes real, regardless of setting or scenario.

So what is it about a story that reaches out and takes hold of you, and what books or characters pop into your mind when you’re asked What’s your favorite book?

Review: Take This Regret

Title: Take This Regret
Author: A.L. Jackson
Author Twitter:
Author Facebook:
Edition: Kindle
Pages: 242
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Price: $3.99 (ebook), $10.79 (paperback)
Source: Received from author for honest review
Rating: 4/5
Blurb: There are some mistakes we make that we will regret for the rest of our lives. For Christian, it was the day he betrayed Elizabeth.

Christian Davison has a plan for his life. He is determined to become an attorney and to one day take his place as partner in his father’s law firm. Nothing will stand in his way, not even Elizabeth Ayers and their unborn child.

After Christian cuts her from his life, Elizabeth spends the next five years struggling to provide for her daughter and willing to sacrifice anything to give her child a safe, comfortable life.

For five years, Christian has regretted the day he walked away from his family and will do anything to win them back just as Elizabeth will do anything to protect her daughter from the certain heartache she believes Christian will bring upon them.

When Christian wrestles his way into their lives, Elizabeth is faced with asking herself if it is possible to forgive someone when they’ve committed the unforgivable and if it is possible to find a love after it has been buried in years of hate. Or are there some wounds that go so deep they can never heal?

They say everyone deserves a second chance.

Review: Christan walks out on a pregnant Elizabeth, the pregenacy itself is hell on her body, though she has a friend to lean on. Fast forward five years when his eyes meet with a little girl in a grocery story and a connection is made. Christan spends the almost the entire story trying to make up for the mistakes of his youth. Elizabeth isn't going to let him back into her life so easily, though she will not deny access to his daughter...

Take This Regret is told through First person with alternating POV's, which adds to the levels of complexity in this story. It was a highly emotional read, she'll take you through the betrayal, anger, longing, deep love and finally redemption. It is not an easy road by any means. It was a wonderful story by a master storyteller. A.L. Jackson is definitely an author to keep an eye on.

I give Take This Regret 4 stars.

May 7, 2012

ARC Review: Where There's Smoke

Title: Where There's Smoke
Author: Karen Kelley
Edition: ARC
Pages: 304
Genre: Erotic Paranormal
Price: $9.68
Release Date: 5/1/12
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Source: Received through Net Galley
Rating: 5/5
Blurb: The Devil Went Down to Texas...
Sexy wannabe demon Destiny Carter has pissed off the people downstairs and has been kicked out of hell.
Now she's in Ft. Worth, Texas with one week to corrupt a soul. Or else.
Lookin' For Just One Soul to Steal...
When smokin' hot Destiny strolls into the Stompin' Ground bar in a slinky red dress, she has a feeling her assignment might not be so bad. The cowboy at the bar looks pretty darn delciious and oh–so–corruptible.
But Chance Bellew is no ordinary cowboy, and Destiny gets away more than she bargained for when she rubs up against the sexy dark angel perched on a barstool like sin just waiting to happen...
Review: This is one of the books that I received from Sourcebooks through NetGalley. It was released last week. And I simply loved it, I plowed through it in one sitting.
I love paranormal stories, ghosts, vampires and zombies being my favorites. Though there's just something special about a book with angels. Now add a demon on top of that and I shiver with delight! Now Destiny and Chance are a level all their own. You have basically a demon in training and a half-breed angel. The demon is trying to steal the angels soul, and the angel is trying to save the demon's soul. Can you say forbidden lovers here? Oh I love it!
The chemistry between the two main characters was electric, the sex between them was smokin' hot. Make no mistake this one is erotica, these two get it on in graphic detail, multiple times.
How can it get any better than that? Enter Chance's brothers, which I have to got a desire to know more about! The meddling demons and the forbidden interaction with Destiny and the mortal's around her rounded out the story perfectly. I though the story line itself was quite original and different than anything I have read recently, and it was a breathe of fresh air. The story moved along at quite a fast pace, I never thought it was moving too slow or fast, but at the perfect speed. This story is told in alternating points of view, so you to be pulled into the story though the eyes of Destiny and Chance.
Destiny... is a very complex and enduring character, yet her story is heartbreaking at times.
Today I am going to give you something I don't always give, an excerpt, onto Destiny and Chance.
Destiny Carter was six years old when she had the first inkling that her life wouldn't be a fairy tale. That was the day her mother left her in a grocery store and never came back. Destiny was right, her life went downhill from there. Bad foster homes, bad boyfriends, and really, really bad choices.

Then she died and went to Hell.

Until she was kicked out.

Destiny landed on the sidewalk with a hard thump.

"Son of a bitch!" She grimaced as she came to her feet, rubbing her hands over her tender backside. She was probably the first person ever to get kicked out of Hell. Temporarily, that is.

Hysterical laughter bubbled inside her, but she quickly tamped it down. She was not going to lose what little bit of sanity she had left. She would get through this like she did everything else, by gritting her teeth and doing what she had to do.

All is not lost. Just take a deep breath.

She inhaled.

Ugh! Her nose twitched as a god-awful stench filled her space. She glanced down the deserted street. Faded army-green painted letters on a shabby storefront window proclaimed it as Ft. Worth's finest resale shop.

Oh hell, she'd landed close to the stockyards in Ft. Worth, Texas, but this wasn't Billy Bob's. No, skid-row bars and vacant buildings lined both sides of the street.

Could her day get any worse?

Not that she had anything against Texas, except it was hot as hell. The dry heat was not helping her mood.

"I couldn't manage to steal one more soul?" she grumbled.

Okay, so she wasn't the best salesperson in the underworld. Why didn't that lawyer just sign on the dotted line? He insisted on reading the fine print and before she knew it, poof, he was gone. One more soul and she would've been a full-fledged demon with all the rights and privileges of that position-like drinking, gambling, and lots of sex.

"Sex," she breathed on a sigh as she slowly combed her fingers through her long, black hair. Naked, straining bodies. Hands touching, caressing. She bit her bottom lip and forced the vision to go far, far away before she grabbed the grungy-looking bum leaning against the vacant store front and had her way with him.

She grimaced. Maybe she wasn't that hard up. But Destiny did really miss sex. Everything about her life might have been lousy, but never the sex. And right now she was so horny she figured she'd start sprouting a pair any time, except people at the trainee level couldn't grow a set of horns to save their lives.

Now she was one step farther from her goal. The ones in charge were really pissed, but at least they had given her another chance, and new orders: corrupt someone and drag the unwitting person back to Hell. She had one week to do it or else. Why the fuck had they tacked on "or else"? What were they going to do? Send her to Hell?

Okay, shake it off. Getting kicked out was only a minor glitch. She could take a soul in less than a week. A moment of panic sent a shiver down her spine and her bravado drained away. Who was she kidding? Only dying souls caught between Heaven and Hell were sent to the sorting station. Her job was to convince them Hell was their best choice. She didn't have to search them out. Nothing ever went right for her in life. Why did she think being dead would change things?

No, she could do this. She would survive.

A flashing neon sign suddenly caught her attention when one of the bulbs popped and blew out. THE STOMPIN' GROUND. A bar. Her mouth watered. Demons-in-training weren't allowed to drink, or do much of anything on the job, and they were always on the job. One drink wouldn't hurt, and a bar would be a good place to start looking for a corruptible soul. In fact, it was her duty to go inside and check the place out.

A slow smile curved her lips as she slid her hands slowly over her body and the plain, butt-ugly, black wool uniform shift became a tight-fitting, low-cut, fuck-me red dress that shimmered with each slow, seductive step she took. Yeah, she was bad. Life made her that way. That's why she went straight to Hell. You never saw a good girl in Hell.

The bum's mouth dropped open. He looked at his wrinkled brown paper sack that obviously held a bottle of booze, then back at her. She grinned and winked. He tipped the bottle to his mouth, guzzling down more alcohol.

"See you in Hell," she muttered.

Destiny made her way to the bar, then pushed on the door, stepping inside the cool, dimly lit interior. As soon as her eyes adjusted, she glanced around. A haze of cigarette smoke formed a gray cloud above the patrons.

Slim pickings. Only a handful of people sat at tables.

Two worn out hookers were strategically positioned close to the door. Too easy. They already had Hell stamped on their foreheads. Destiny wanted to impress the powers that be. Used-up hookers would not make an impact on them.

A couple of men sat at another table deep in conversation about a stupid football game. Not bad looking. Wedding rings glinted on their fingers. Married. Too much trouble.

Hmm... But the demons might be impressed.

Before she could take a step toward them the bathroom door opened, spilling a patch of light into the bar. Two laughing women joined the men at their table. Scratch that idea. Two was company, four was a crowd.

There was a lively group of barely legal college boys chugging pitchers of beer. Hmm, certainly corruptible. From the way they were dressed, they were definitely slumming. One guy glanced her way, eyes practically bugging out.

Oh hell, was that drool? No thanks!

Someone put money in the jukebox and a slow country song began to play. For a moment, she let the deep voice of the singer wash over her. She didn't even mind that he was crooning about his cheating wife and losing himself in a bottle of whiskey. Damn, she missed being alive.

Her gaze languidly drifted around the rest of the room, past dark walls with posters of country singers plastered all over them. The bartender wiped a damp cloth across one end of the bar. Destiny's eyes narrowed as she sized him up. The potential was there.

He raised his head, saw her, then smiled. The kind of smile that made her feel good all over. He wasn't bad looking, in a good-old-boy sort of way.

Destiny drew in a deep breath as she readied herself for a full assault, but at the last minute a movement at the other end of the bar caught her eye.

A lone cowboy sat on one of the stools nursing a beer, his back to her. He wore a black T-shirt that deliciously hugged his broad shoulders. Her gaze dropped. The jeans weren't bad, either. Nope, not bad at all. The guy had a great ass from this angle. Sweet! Cowboy had just enough muscles that he created a fantasy, but not enough that she would be in competition with his ego.

He turned and looked her way, his gaze sliding sensuously over her body. Tingles of excitement tickled her spine. She had such a fondness for cowboys. They knew how to ride 'em long and hard, and she was all for long and hard.

She devoured him with one long lazy look. His black Stetson was pulled down low on his forehead as though he didn't give a damn about anyone or anything. It didn't help that, for some insane reason, black cowboy hats turned her on.

Oh baby, she was about to make his wet dreams come true. Yee-haw, ride 'em cowboy.

The bartender was forgotten as she locked on target. Destiny slid her hands over her hips nice and slow before sauntering toward him, putting just a little bit of swing in her hips.

This time she would be the one calling the shots. The one in charge. No one would ever control her again like they had when she was alive. She would take what she wanted and to hell with the rest! Literally.

The cowboy watched her every step of the way. She was already wrapping him around her little finger and the poor guy didn't have a clue. She stopped beside him.

"Buy a lady a beer?" she asked. Her words held enough invitation that only an idiot wouldn't guess she wanted more than a beer, and this guy didn't look like an idiot. She slid onto the stool next to his, propping her elbow on the scarred wooden surface of the bar.

Over the haze of smoke, over the smell of alcohol, Destiny caught another scent that weaved its way around her, making her lean in a little closer. It was spicy and held a promise of nights filled with down-and-dirty sex. She could feel the waves of heat radiating off him, curling around her body and wrapping her in a sensual cloud of sexual awareness.

"A beer for the lady," he drawled, breaking into her fantasy and nodding toward the bartender.

His voice sent tingles down her spine. It was just a little raspy-low and sexy.

Cowboy swiveled his stool around to face her and tipped the brim of his hat with one finger so she got a better look at his face: the strong jaw, the slight stubble, and the most intense blue eyes she'd ever encountered.

Destiny had her first mini orgasm, and it felt so fucking great! This guy looked good enough to eat. She was going to enjoy corrupting him.

"What's a cowboy like you doing in a bar all alone?" Okay, that sounded pretty cheesy, but she was a little out of practice; she'd died in 1959.

"Waiting for a woman like you," he replied and again his words caressed her as his blue-eyed gaze drifted lazily down her body before returning to her face. Her nipples tightened.

The bartender set a beer in front of her. Cowboy dropped a few bills on the counter and the bartender left.

She grinned as she took the bottle, her tongue sliding nice and slow around the rim before she brought it the rest of the way to her lips. She tilted the bottle a little and ice-cold liquid slid down her throat. Nice. She'd missed the taste of alcohol.

"So, what's your handle, cowboy?" she asked after she lowered the bottle.

"Chance. Chance Bellew."

"Well, you've just met your destiny." She grinned. "Destiny Carter." She thought she might have...

Where There's Smoke